Yellow Fever Vaccination Requirement in Tanzania

Tanzania has installed Health Surveillance Desks at all borders, ports, and international airports to check all travelers for their yellow fever vaccination certificate. All travelers will be required to get a stamp at the health desk before going to the immigration desk.

This certificate is required for entry into Tanzania if you have been to an infected country. The vaccination must be done at least 10 days prior to entry.

The Yellow Fever Endemic Zone in Africa includes Senegal, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Cote D’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Nigeria, Mali, Niger, Chad, Central African Republic, Togo, Benin, Sao Tome, and Principe, Cameroon, Gabon, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, United Republic of Tanzania, Angola, Zambia, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, Ethiopia, Somali, Sudan, and Equatorial Guinea.

The Yellow Fever Endemic Zone in the Americas includes Panama, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Brazil, Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana, and Bolivia.

Travelers flying non-stop from Europe or South Africa to Tanzania (i.e., KLM from Amsterdam) will not need the yellow fever vaccination certificate.

However, any traveler on a flight that goes through Nairobi or Ethiopia or other affected area, even if you do not get off the airplane, will need proof of vaccination.

The yellow fever vaccination will be available at the Kilimanjaro Airport for US$50.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *